Claytons Primary School

Primary School


Buckinghamshire School Funding Crisis

What does a Governor do?

Governors provide strategic leadership and accountability in the schools. They appoint the head teacher and deputy headteacher. It is governors who hold the main responsibility for finance in schools, and it is governors who work with the headteacher to make the tough decisions about balancing resources.
Each individual governor is a member of a governing board, which is established in law as a corporate body. Individual governors may not act independently of the rest of the governing board; decisions are the joint responsibility of the governing board.  
The role of the governing board is a strategic one, its key functions are to:

  • set the aims and objectives for the school
  • set the policies for achieving those aims and objectives
  • set the targets for achieving those aims and objectives
  • monitor and evaluate the progress the school is making towards achievement of its aims and objectives
  • be a source of challenge and support to the headteacher (a critical friend)

Governors Summer 2021 Newsletter

You can contact them on 
The address won’t necessarily be checked every day so there may be a slight delay in responding to points made.

Governors Pecuniary Interest Statement
Click on the link below to see the whole governing body committee layout.
The Who's Who of Governors 
For additional information click on the links below National Governors' Association  
Latest Ofsted Reports
Financial Benchmarking
Parent View gives you the chance to tell Ofsted what you think about your child’s school
Department of Education Compare Schools School and college performance tables
Click on each of the governors to read a brief synopsis for them

Mrs Jensa Carter Julie Wheatley Miss Charlotte Gater Miss Joanna Huckle
Mrs Jenny Scarborough Mrs Cecilia Garrido Mrs Blanche Morrissey Mrs Lisa Fleming
Ms Amanda Moore Mrs Louise Kynaston Mrs Hannah Curran Mrs Ulrike Walmsley
Mr Andrew Snowden Mr Matt Norris
Click on the links below to see Governor Attendance
14-15        15-16         16-17        17-18        18-19        19-20
Below is a list of past Governors and their term of office.
Lawrence Corbett 15/09/2014-10/07/2020
Mike Balbini 25/2015 - 03/04/2019
Lin Woodward 19/06/2014 - 24/07/2019
Emma McIver 20.06.2014 - 22.06.2017
Sasa 23.11.2015 - 31.3.2018
Sharon Cromie 22/03/18 - 01/08/18

Archive Newsletters
Spring 2020
Autumn 2019

Summer 2019
Spring 2019
Autumn 2018

Summer 2018
Spring 2018